International Symposium - Fiction and reality: beyond Big Brother

Watch the videos

Best Film Award Jaeger - LeCoultreAmour Fou, by Jessica Hausner
Special Jury Award João Bénard da CostaPhoenix, by Christian Petzold
TAP Revelation AwardHeaven Knows What, by Ben and Joshua Safdie
Nespresso Best Actor/ Actress Award
Ingrid García Jonsson, for the film Hermosa Juventud
Cineuropa AwardAngels of Revolution, by Aleksej Fedorchenko
LEFFEST 2014 - Archive

Palmarés LEFFEST 2014

This year, the jury for the Official Selection – In Competition, comprised of Nan Godlin, Dimítris Dimitriádis, Dorota Maslowska, Francisco Tropa and Philippe Parreno, decided to hand out the following awards:

Best Film Award Jaeger - LeCoultre:
Amour Fou, by Jessica Hausner 

Special Jury Award João Bénard da Costa:
Phoenix, by Christian Petzold

TAP Revelation Award:
Heaven Knows What, by Ben and Joshua Safdie

Nespresso Best Actor/ Actress Award:

Cineuropa Award, awarded by a representative of this platform that promotes European cinema, was awarded to:
Angels of Revolution, by Aleksej Fedorchenko

The director, who was present at LEFFEST, sent a message from Warsaw:
“This is a first Award for Angels of Revolution.  When I was awarded in Rome with the Marc'Aurelio for the Future Award many journalists asked me what was the meaning of it for me personally and I said that it meant a huge responsibility: as a filmmaker for the Future I have to confirm the quality of my cinema. The Lisbon & Estoril Film Festival has already confirmed to me that I'm on the right way: thanks to Cineuropa and to Lisbon & Estoril Film Festival, thanks very much to all for appreciating Angels of Revolution.
This is so important because it is, as I said, the first Award given to this film and it has also a symbolic value, because when I was in Portugal I was thinking about how the World discoveries started from Portugal with their formidable navigators. So Angels of Revolution starts the navigation in the world, from Portugal with this Award. I'm on my way!"

The MEO Award – Best Short Film
, awarded by a jury comprised of Peter Handke, Dulce Maria Cardoso and Brigit Hutter, distinguishes the films in the European Film School Meeting and this year it was awarded, ex aequo, to: 

Paul et Virginie, by Paul Cartron ( The Institute des Arts Diffusion)
Para Pero Sigue, by Lud Monaco (ECIB - Escuela de Cine de Barcelona)

The same jury awarded the following honorable mentions:

Do Outro Lado, by Artur Maurício (ETIC)
Saba, de Sara Santos (Escola Superior de Tecnologia de Abrantes)
Poço das Almas, by Filipa Pinto (Escola Superior de Teatro e Cinema)